A Jyotirlinga or Jyotirling or Jyotirlingam is a shrine where Lord Shiva, an aspect of God in Hinduism is worshipped in the form of a Jyotirlingam or “Lingam (pillar) of light.” There are twelve traditional Jyotirlinga shrines in India.

It is believed that Lord Shiva first manifested himself as a Jyotirlinga on the night of the Aridra Nakshatra, thus the special reverence for the Jyotirlinga. There is nothing to distinguish the appearance, but it is believed that a person can see these lingas as columns of fire piercing through the earth after he reaches a higher level of spiritual attainment.

Facts about twelve Jyotirlingams:

1.) Somanatheshwara: Somanaatheshwara is situated in Somnath. It is the first of the twelve Jyotirlinga memorials of Shiva, held with respect throughout the India. It is rich in its stories, traditions, and history. This is placed at PrabhasPatan in Saurashtra in Gujarat.

2.) Mahakaleshwara: Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga shrine is situated in Ujjain. The old and historical city of Ujjain or Avanti in Madhya Pradesh. It is home to the Jyotirlinga tomb of Mahakaleshwar.

3.) Omkareshwara: Also known as Mahamalleshwara. Omkareshwar is an island in the flow direction of the river Narmada in Madhya Pradesh. It is home to the Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga tomb and the Amareshwar temple.

4.) Mallikarjuna: SreeSailam nearby Kurnool has the Mallikarjuna in an old temple rich in architecture and art wealth. Aadi Sankaracharya created his Sivanandalahiri here.

5.) Kedareshwara: Kedaareshwara situated in Kedarnath is the Northernmost of the Jyotirlingas. Kedarnath rests in the snow covered the Himalayas. It’s an ancient shrine rich in tradition. It has way in only on foot, six months in a year.

6.) Bhimashankara: Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga tomb is linked with the legend part of Shiva destroying the evil Tripurasura. Bhimashankar is situated in the Sahyadri hills of Maharashtra, has its way from Pune.

7.) Kashi Vishwanatheshwara: KaashiVishwanaatheshwara is in Varanasi. It is a commonly visited site in India. The Vishwanath temple in Benares, Uttar Pradesh is the goal of the thousands of pilgrims that go to this city. The Vishwanath tomb is respected as one of the 12 Jyotirlinga shrines of Shiva.

8.) Triambakeshwara: Triambakeshwara or Tryambakeshwar links its origin from the river Godavari. This Jyotirlinga shrine is near Nasik in Maharashtra.

9.) Vaidyanatheshwara: Vaidyanath temple which is at Deogarh. One of the oldest pilgrimage town of Deogarh in the Santal Parganas area of Bihar. It is holy as one of the 12 Jyotirlingas of Shiva is here.

10.) Naganatheshwara: Nageshwar nearby Dwarka in the city of Gujarat. It is one of the 12 Jyotirlinga tombs of Shiva.

11.) Grishneshwara: Grishneshwar Jyotirlinga Shrine is a temple in the neighborhood of the tourist town Ellora. Which contains several rock-cut monuments from the 1st millennium CE.

12.) Rameshwara: Rameswaram is a vast temple in the island of Rameswaram, in Southern Tamil Nadu. It has Ramalingeswarar and is holy as the southernmost of the 12 Jyotirlinga tom of India lays here.

1 Comment

  1. Good one👍👏 keep writing

Comments are closed.